Last ‘Real’ Run Before the Wineglass Marathon!

IMG_1177

Today was my last ‘real’ run before the Wineglass Marathon on Sunday. Oh sure, I’ll do a ‘shakeout’ run of a couple of miles tomorrow, but that will be super-short and slow. Even today was only 4.5 miles as I wind down my taper.

The Wineglass attracts 5000 runners between the half- and full-marathons. The course is amazing – fast, flat and gorgeous. The weather is going to be rather warm – upper 70s is the forecast, and only mid-50s for a low! Last year was perfect – 40 starting out and 60 by finish. Oh well, I am really looking forward to it!

Today at Corning Headquarters Bart Yasso – Runner’s World’s Chief Running Officer – will be there for a ‘brown bag lunch’ and presentation! I have loads of work to do on my project, but I am really hoping to head into Corning to see him! Also, I can grab my bib and goodies if I can get down there!

After such a crazy week (more on that later) I am very much looking forward to 26.2 wonderful miles, and all that goes along with it – the pain, the joy, the recovery, and the wonderful people who come out to help out at aid stations and cheer us on!

What are your weekend plans?

Leave a Reply

