Baldur’s Gate II Enhanced Edition Coming November 15th!

OK, anyone who knows me know that I’m a gamer – I have been into computer games since Castle Wolfenstein way back on the Apple ][! For the longest time my preferred genre was shooters – Doom, Dark Forces, Duke Nukem, Jedi Knight, Return to Castle Wolfenstein, Medal of Honor, Soldier of Fortune, Jedi Knight II … you get the picture.

But when LucasArts announced a Star Wars RPG ‘Knights of the Old Republic’ for late 2003, I knew I had to check it out! To prepare myself, I played their 2002 game ‘Neverwinter Nights’ when it came to the Mac in mid-2003, then thorougly enjoyed KotOR (which is now on iPad, by the way). After I was done with those games, and also the expansions for NWN – I wanted MORE.

Suddenly I was hooked into the RPG genre, and there were two games I played based on RPGDot (now RPGWatch) forum recommendations – Gothic 2 and Baldur’s Gate II.

Baldur’s Gate II is always close to the top of ‘best video games of all time’ lists – and for good reason. Great characters, excellent writing, ‘real-time with pause’ combat system that is a great compromise between depth and speed, and just an amazing overall experience. Between the original ‘Shadows of Amn’ and the ‘Throne of Bhaal’ expansion there is more than 120 hours of gaming … so this is not the sort of game I knock off every year like Jedi Knight 2!

The original release still works well on the PC, but doesn’t take advantage of wide-screens, higher resolutions and so on. The Mac version has long since been left behind in the sea of Apple changes including Power-PC to Intel and OS X. So now we get the news that Beamdog, Overhaul Games and Atari are releasing the game – including all original content plus new stuff – for Mac & PC on November 15th. You can pre-order here.

Check out the trailer.

Leave a Reply

