Throwback Thursday – Thanksgiving Edition

apple picking oct 2008

OK, so more than just one photo this week …

The top one is from the fall of 2008 right after we moved to New York. We have always had such a great time hiking and apple picking and other fall stuff. This year Lisa had to miss hiking season, but thankfully her ankle is on the mend and by the spring we should be able to hit the trails again.

Here are five things I am thankful for:

My wonderful wife – she truly is my rock, best friend, and partner in crime. For nearly 25 years (21.5 married) we’ve been inseparable, and I look forward to the next 25.

Danny and Chris – I do not take for granted that I have two wonderful boys who are so smart, talented, creative, funny and such a joy to be with (most of the time anyway – let’s be real, they ARE teenagers!). I don’t know what the future holds for them, but I look forward to seeing it.

Enjoying time with my Brother – I have not forgotten how close we came to losing John this year. Over the last few years as certain areas of his life have spiraled to an end, I have been lucky to have had our friendship grow closer and stronger than at anytime since we were teenagers.

That Lisa’s ankle was the worst injury in our house this year – sure I wish she didn’t get hurt, but two months later she is out of PT and only has to wear the brace on occasion. I count us lucky for that.

That I have a job that supports me and my family – while the numbers say the economy is better, most of us know that the world has shifted and security just isn’t there. It seems like companies go quarter to quarter deciding if they will hire or fire … Corning is a really great place. They have guiding principles, and one of them is ‘The Individual’ … and more than any other company I have worked with, they mean it.

And finally, I am thankful for my health. Given that at my birthday in 2012 I weighed more than 100lbs more than I do now, I am ending 2013 the lightest and in the best shape of my adult life, by quite a bit. A full cardiac workup cleared me of concerns, and with good blood pressure, cholesterol and everything else … I am very happy to be in the shape I am.

Here are two Thanksgiving pictures from 1981. The top one shows John along with Deb Geigis and a bunch of others at the SHS vs. Canton football game.

The send one has my mom and I standing there – I am typically posed, whereas mom shows just how cold it was outside (and is wearing her traditional flower) … and Danny Aronson is with us.

SHS Football 81_b

SHS Football 811

Happy Thanksgiving!

2 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday – Thanksgiving Edition

Leave a Reply

