The Joy of Running in the Not-So Cold!

Warm-Up Day Run2

I woke up this morning and checked my phone – it was 31F! Glorious! That means base layers, hat and light gloves. There was no wind and it was 30F when I left at 4:30AM, and my whole body was screaming OMIGODITISSONICEANDWARMOUTHERE … and just wanted to run! As I said before, the temperature tends to be relative to the weather trends – and since we are heading to ~45F today and up to possibly 60F over the weekend, the air had a spring-like feel.

It was just an incredible morning for a run – I ended up doing just over 9 miles, meaning that I was pushing it waking the boys up for school. Oh well, everyone got out the door on time. It felt awesome, and I can’t wait to get out this weekend in some of the warmer temperatures in and amongst all of the holiday pre-work I’ll be doing.

Warm-Up Day Run1

I have mentioned the TimeHop app before, which I love because it reflects back your activity on social media this day last year, the year before and so on. Since last year at this time I was in the midst of my running streak (the image is from last week, today’s was ‘Day 41’), it has been great to look at the posts, as they bring back so many great memories – not just of the streak but of the amazing comments I got and all of the awesome people who chimed in.

And that was one of the best things about the running streak – building up the old and new connections, communicating, sharing, learning and so on. This is the power of social media, so whether we were friends in Stoughton 30 years ago or just know each other from a blog over the last few months, there is still an impact and a shared experience that has real value in our lives.

How is the weather where you are? Have you ever reflected back on your social media activity from the past?

6 thoughts on “The Joy of Running in the Not-So Cold!

  1. It’s cold and snowing here today! I’m slowly increasing my activity this week, and I had 2-2mile walks planned for today. And, well, I’m still doing them, cold be damned! I’m at home all day, so if I come in all cold and damp I can hop under my heated blanket and warm up quick, but I’ll be happy I got them in.

    I check back on my FB posts from before more often than I’d think. I’m going to do a “year in review” blog soon and I was just thanking my lucky stars that FB exists so I can easily see what happened last year.

  2. It sounds WONDERFUL and I’m so glad everyone got out the door on time. 🙂 I can’t wait to get out for a warm run tomorrow morning. We should have some similar temps here that you are having.

    I haven’t used Timehop but I know a lot of people that have and now I’m sad I didn’t start it back when my daughter was first born. I have an instagram hashtag set up for her though and it has 200+ pictures from her birthday to the present filed underneath it so I look at those sometimes. I think I’ll have a book made out of them!

    • I don’t think you need to have started Timehop to have it keep track – it grabs authorization and then goes back through your social media. So I get stuff from Twitter and Facebook from 2008 or 2009 even though TimeHop only came out in 2012!

      I really have to work on getting the kids better about getting up on their own … we all got out without a major hassle, but seriously, they are 17 and almost 16 now!

  3. Sounds like a beautiful morning to run! We have freezing rain here today and school is out for the Christmas holidays so it’s a treadmill run for me this afternoon.

Leave a Reply

