Recipe Sharing: Crunchy Peanut Butter Bulgur with Berries

20140113-102229.jpg

Happy Monday! In our house we have one with a lingering cold / sinus infection, one who seems to be headed that way, Lisa home from working overnight for inventory … and me, fortunately not sick. We are hoping to get Chris well soon as he has a trip to Quebec this weekend

I wanted to share a cool new recipe – this is one Lisa found in a recent Cooking Light and thought ‘Mike will like this’ and saved it for me. It looked interesting, but centered around something I had never used as a breakfast staple before – Bulgur. The rest of the ingredients were more or less daily staples, so I wasn’t concerned. Here we go:

20140113-102251.jpg

Ingredients:
– 1 cup uncooked Bulgur
– 1.5 cups milk (I used skim)
– 1 tbsp peanut butter
– 1 tbsp Greek yogurt
– 0.5 cups berries (I used frozen blueberry/strawberry/raspberry pack)
– 1 tsp chopped nuts (I used pecans because I have a bag from Christmas, but peanuts are a better choice)

Directions:
– (MAKE AHEAD) Combine 1 cup uncooked Bulgur and 1.5 cups milk in a bowl.
– Stir, cover and refrigerate overnight. Note: this is enough for about a week.
20140113-102151.jpg

– Fluff/stir the following morning (all liquid is absorbed)
20140113-102200.jpg

– Put 3/4 cup of the Bulgur in a microwave safe bowl (cereal bowl was perfect size for me).

20140113-102210.jpg

– Microwave on HIGH for 1 minute.

20140113-102222.jpg

– Stir in 1 tbsp peanut butter
– Top with 1 tbsp Greek yogurt
– Add fruit on top
– Sprinkle nuts over the top
– Enjoy!

Nutrition: Based on my modifications of the original recipe:
Calories: 297
Fat: 12.3g
Saturated fat: 2.3g
Protein: 14.8g
Carbohydrate: 43.5g
Fiber: 11.9g
Sodium: 126mg

Conclusions:
I had mentioned on Instagram that I was trying something new with Bulgur and that if it worked I would post on it … suffice to say this worked well! I was thrilled with how this came out – the Bulgur is light on flavor but pleasant in terms of taste and texture.

The rest of it was easy – my daily breakfast routine consists of peanut butter (toast), fruit and Greek yogurt … so once I liked the Bulgur by itself this was an easy win. The other great thing is that due to the amount of fiber and protein, you will be full all morning long … at least I was!

Enjoy – and if you try it, let me know!

3 thoughts on “Recipe Sharing: Crunchy Peanut Butter Bulgur with Berries

  1. Pingback: Weekly Recap and Spill It Sunday | Running Around the Bend

  2. Pingback: 30 Days of Gratitude – Day #12, The Quest for New Noms to Nom | Running Around the Bend

Leave a Reply

