Weekly Recap and Spill It Sunday ‘Possessions’ Edition

Five Things Sunday 1

Happy Super Bowl Sunday! I hope everyone is having a great weekend and has a safe and fun night. We are staying in and making some fun foods to enjoy … not sure how much football we’ll watch, but that isn’t a big deal.

As for my running this week, it was dominated by the cold surge that swept through again … but on Friday I started feeling crappy, and Friday night both Lisa (who is actually sick) and I fell asleep watching old Doctor Who episodes with the kids. So I decided that since Lisa was off, I would also take off the weekend. True confession – between Friday and Saturday night I slept more than the FIVE nights (Sun – Thurs) combined! Now I feel great and well rested … and know that the total exhaustion of -20 runs caught up to me, but at least I’m not feeling like I’m getting sick.

Here is my weekly summary:

Sunday: REST DAY! More like ‘sleep day’, it was awesome and much needed!
Monday: 18F – 10.5 miles – the kids were more of less off school (Regent’s week and end of term), so I was able to run longer.
Tuesday: -20F wind chill – 6.75 miles. And … the cold was back.
Wednesday: -20F wind chill – 6.75 miles. Another day of fun.
Thursday: -10F with light winds – 7.5 miles. Ugh! I was highly annoyed
Friday 15F with light winds – 10.5 miles (see a trend?). I really wanted to get in a good run, and I really loved this.
Saturday REST DAY! I was debating what to do, but as noted I felt lousy and sleep was the answer!

So that was my week – 43 miles and two rest days, plus some really cold runs. Overall not bad … oh, and it is really amazing the difference your body feels running when it is well below zero compared to the teens.

Spill-it-Sunday-option-2-1-300x300

And this week over at Arman’s site, the ‘Spill It Sunday’ focus is on possessions. It was interesting that the things that immediately kept to mind were not so much material possessions but rather reflections of the things I value in life. You’ll see what I mean as I go along.

So here are five things that hold special meaning to me:

iPad with keyboard case – OK, so this is the most traditional ‘possession’ item, but I would be lying if I said I am not technology oriented, and the iPad is my 90% connection at this point. If you see a blog, email, Tweet, etc from me … chances are it came from here. And yes, that includes the double-sized sideways Instagram app! And it is beyond all of the normal productivity and web-based apps .. I love games – iPad has plenty; love listening to music – have iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and Slacker; love making music – iPad has Garageband, as well as a host of great music making apps.

Belkin Ultimate

Wedding Ring – I think I make it clearly pretty regularly that Lisa is the center of my life, and this ring hasn’t left my hand except for cleaning in nearly 22 years. I love the diamond design, we have matching bands from a time that was pretty rare (most people I knew and that we met on our honeymoon the guy had a plain gold band). But it isn’t the ‘thing’ that matters, it is the symbol of my connection to Lisa.

Five Things Sunday 2

Claddagh Ring – Lisa gave me this ring for Christmas the year Christopher was born. We knew at that point we wouldn’t be able to have any more kids due to the complications, and after the doctor said Lisa should avoid anything looking like surgery whenever possible I had the action taken to ensure no more (potentially life-threatening) pregnancies happened. So when she gave me this ring, it was a symbol of our family – the four of us united together in love and family.

Five Things Sunday 3

Fraternity Composites and Race Medal Case – what makes these two things important? They are both special parts of my life, and Lisa went and made special displays for both. The Fraternity display hangs in our family room, while the running case (which I still need to update with 2013) is going in our newly painted upstairs hallway.

Five Things Sunday 4

Running GPS Watch / Heart rate monitor – this could have easily been my Garmin, but the Magellan Echo is my current go-to fitness tool. The bottom line is this – tracking my mileage & pace has kept me accountable. In 2012 it changed my life, and my running life … and in 2013 it helped me work on pacing, balancing my effort, working on my training schedule and runs, and so on. Oh, and continuing to keep myself accountable. Ultimately that is the thing I needed.

Five Things Sunday 5

So what about you? How was YOUR running this week? Cold enough for you? And how about possessions – anything you really value?

Hope everyone has a great week!

9 thoughts on “Weekly Recap and Spill It Sunday ‘Possessions’ Edition

  1. I’m loving your runs – and a little jealous! I’m thinking I’m finally well enough to resume training in earnest! Finally! I love thus post and especially your wedding ring!

    • Thanks! I love our rings … and funny story that on our 10th we went shopping around for an anniversary band – and after months wound up with the exact same thing (now has a stacked set)!

      Glad to hear you are getting better and back into action!

  2. Yep definitely cold enough this week! And I didn’t have to deal with temps anything like yours! As for possessions, I would have similar answers to you- my wedding band/engagement ring and my garmin. Both have important meaning behind the actual item, reflecting what I value in my life.

    • As I have thought about it, the ‘reflecting what I value in life’ sentiment gave me another thought – photos. Many of my ‘throwback Thursday’ pictures are scanned slides or pictures that I have digitized and are ‘on the cloud’. But we have boxes of pictures from when we were first married and when the kids were littled. Many pictures have been scanned, but it seems like that will be a project this year …

  3. Pingback: Week In Review – 1/26/14 « A Runnah's Story

  4. Wild that you are able to keep running outside with the weather so cold.. I have been hibernating myself.. Luckily, we have a treadmill.

    My wedding ring holds significance for me as well, but I actually lost it for an entire month recently. In the end, it ended up turning up at the bottom of my dishwasher of all places!! Totally weird, but it was really, really clean. 🙂

    • I don’t begrudge anyone who is smart enough to stay inside in this weather! 🙂

      Crazy story on your ring – I would have gone nuts! I don’t take it off doing dishes or anything … definitely afraid of losing it!

  5. Wow that is FREEZING!!! I don’t know how you do it but kudos to you for getting out there! I love all my Ithings! That’s so sweet she made those frames for you! I might have to start one myself if I keep this up! 🙂 Hope you’re feeling better. I’m sort of jealous of all the sleep you’ve gotten!

    • Fortunately I feel great – little sleep, good as new.

      Yeah, cold weather is crap! As I said before, just because I DO run in it doesn’t mean I LIKE it!

      And Lisa getting that stuff framed meant SO much to me. I am very much a ‘thought that counts’ person … and so those were perfect gifts!

Leave a Reply

