Weekly Recap and Spill It Sunday

Saturday Run1

Happy Sunday! Well, we’ve gone from the Super Snooze Bowl to the Olympics, and while I detailed why I wasn’t too excited … once the actual SPORTS started it was amazing. Seriously, check out the video in this article featuring 15-year old Russian figure skater Yulia Lipnitskaya. OMG.

Once again the weather has been ‘cold as all crap’ or some other description that works with near-zero temperatures and sub-zero wind chills. Lisa was still not getting better, so I came from work and went to her primary care doctor on Tuesday, then she had an appointment with her ENT on Wednesday. She is now allergic to penicillin products, and her allergist wants to revisit allergy shots and work through all of her potential food allergies and intolerances. He is not convinced that gluten might not be a problem … we will see!

Another cool thing? On Thursday I played baker, making a cake and a large batch of cupcakes and a double-batch of butter-cream frosting, and coloring some so that Danny could use some as part of asking his (very recent) girlfriend to go to prom.

Danny Prom Cupcakes

Oh – and she said yes! Apparently right after that everyone descended and ate all of the cupcakes and my baking got high praise. (sadly the Tupperware cover is a bit warped and took off one of the hearts).

Here is my weekly summary:

Sunday: REST DAY! Loved the time with the family again!
Monday: ~0F winds – yeah, standard 6.75
Tuesday: -10 wind chills … 6.75 miles
Wednesday: SNOW DAY! Ran my standard 6.75 miles in 6 or so inches of fresh snow!
Thursday: -2F with light winds – 6.75 miles
Friday: -2F but not windy – 7.5 miles, it actually felt warmer than the thermometer.
Saturday Post haircut run … 12.75 miles!

So that was my week – about 48 miles in more challenging temperatures, winds and snow. Can I just say again how much I loved running in the snow, and yet how much I really felt the combined running and shoveling on Thursday morning? Fine by me – that is a ‘good’ burn!

Spill-it-Sunday-option-2-1-300x300

And this week over at Arman’s site, the ‘Spill It Sunday’ is ‘Top 5 Lists’. Honestly, not my favorite of the topics … but here goes anyway!

The last 5 people you spoke to on the phone – people still TALK on their phones?
– Colleague at work
– My boss at work
– Telemarketer
– Lisa after her ENT
– Lisa when she was making doctor appointments
(and that actually takes us back the whole week)

The last 5 meals you ate
– Breakfast – greek yogurt, peanut butter toast and prunes
– Lunch/Dinner – sweet potato with cheese and meat sauce, piece of cake.
– Breakfast – the end of my Crunchy Peanut Butter Bulgur with Berries … I finished the bag with this batch. Definitely doing this again!
– Dinner – fundraiser dinner with Danny & Chris at Buffalo Wild Wings. They wanted mozzarella sticks and fries, and we also got a large boneless wings … and my split was my fave – mango habenero. We all had cake later on.
– Lunch – had a lunch meeting at work, so salad with grilled chicken, apple and water

The last 5 places you travelled
– Liquor store (wine run!)
– Hair salon … yes, we get our hair cut in a salon. So why?
– Buffalo Wild Wings
– From main engineering building in Corning to project site in Big Flats
– Dropped kids off at school (so Danny could easily transport his cupcakes) and off to Corning

The next 5 places you will go
– Out for a run
– Market for supplies for the week
– Work on Monday
– … who knows!

The last 5 workouts you did
– Running x5

5 things making you happy right now
– Enjoying a drink tonight and relaxing with Lisa
– Sitting on the couch with the dogs
– Going to Buffalo Wild Wings with the boys (fundraiser for Danny’s Class of 2015)
– My Saturday run!
– Transitioning to an exciting new set of responsibilities on my project at work

So what about you? How was YOUR running this week? Cold enough for you? And how about YOUR top 5s?

Hope everyone has a great week!

16 thoughts on “Weekly Recap and Spill It Sunday

  1. What a thoughtful way to ask his girlfriend to prom! So sweet! Awesome job on the baking as well.

    Last 5 places I traveled:
    Buffalo Wild Wings (as well!) for dinner last night. We had a gift card from Christmas.
    Grocery Store
    Frozen Yogurt Store
    Out to walk the dog
    The Gym

    • I thought about changing up the ‘last 5 places’ because it felt mundane, but I guess our day to day lives are just as much a part of who we are as anything!

      I really thought that Danny had a great idea with that – because not only was it creative, but it was somewhere between intimate and showy, reflecting the comfort level of the girl. This is the first time I have seen him do something like that.

    • I was really surprised that a 20-something chose ‘TALK’ as an item … had it been a week earlier I would have struggled to figure out 5 times within a couple of weeks! I just don’t do it much. Texting is so much easier!

    • Thanks! At work I am on a critical (and tightly secretive) project that has loads of people and loads of work. My group is part of corporate engineering, so sometimes we end up with ‘task-oriented’ stuff that is stressful because it is hard to know what is coming next!

      (oh, and it was Danny with the cupcakes 🙂 )

  2. I remember “back in my day” guys would just ask a girl to prom…just by asking! When did that all change? Either way it’s very sweet! Do they have prom this early too? I watched that skating video last night. I pulled my hamstring just watching it. Did you see when she got her score? No reaction. Geez Russia, relax! Running was non-exisitant this week. I cannot run on this sore calf and it’s making me sad. I did other types of workouts, but I just don’t know what is wrong with my leg and can’t afford a myriad of doctors who will probably tell me it’s nothing and rest it.

    • I think most kids just ask – probably too many ask via text message! But he is a unique person and wanted to do things a little different to make it special. Which I applaud.

      We loved watching the Russian skater, and I look at her reaction as ‘context’ – she didn’t know where to sit, what to do, or what it all meant. So young, and still learning everything. The girl from the US who is 22 was a pro – headed right for the scoring bench and immediately knew what the score meant for her.

      I hope your leg feels better – and I suspect you are right that the first things they would say are ‘did you rest for a couple of weeks’? Then tell you to come back after a couple of weeks and charge you a full visit!

  3. Mike you had another great week :-). Enjoy the wine, hope the wife get the allergy stuff under control.

    I get tired of all the politics, the network posturing and other stories they seem to think is so important, But when the athletes are on, they are amazing all of them.

  4. Russian gymnasts and figure skaters….seriously, what’s in their…..borcht? I would say coffee but I don’t think it’s too popular there.

    You get a hair cut at a hair salon? Nice. Those who have anything to say? Deal with it, Taylor.

    • “Deal with it, Taylor.”

      PERFECT! Exactly – I did a barber for years, but when I was working university vacations in a retail store that had a salon I started getting cut there and guess what – it looked great (not that I really have an elaborate ‘style’). So while I went back to barbers for a while and even when the boys were little, eventually we all went to the stylist and keep doing that – it allows much more flexibility … and when the kids want something special for a dance or event the stylist is much more understanding (and the whole salon tends to join in as well!)

      I think with the Russian athletes in certain areas it is a cultural thing – they learn to get their success/failure cues from others, so they don’t have that independant streak like the girl from the US saying ‘bullsh!t’ when she didn’t like the score! 🙂

Leave a Reply

