Spill It Sunday – ‘Reality TV’ Edition and Weekly Running Recap

New Merrell AllOut Rush1
http://thebigmansworld.com/2014/03/02/spill-it-sundays-14-reality-tv/

OK, so I have already complained enough about the cold … not complaining anymore (this week). Also, today was just gorgeous outside – 25F when I started and 30F by the time I got home. That allowed me to try out my new Merrells … and they were fun to run with. Definitely stiffer than the Minimus, not surprising since they are trail shoes. Can’t wait to put them to the test on actual trails!

Here is my weekly summary:

Sunday: Rest Day!
Monday: Still warm at 18F … I did 8.25 miles!
Tuesday: Back to cold … 6.75 miles
Wednesday: ~0FF … 6.75 miles
Thursday: -8F … 6.75 miles
Friday: -17F … 6.75 miles
Saturday 30F with variable winds, did 15.1 miles

Surprisingly I managed to break 50 miles this week (50.35) – I say surprisingly because I felt like I had to REALLY push to get anything going this week. The latest Polar Vortex after that warm-up really killed my motivation, and I was very moody about my runs by Thursday and Friday. But hey, Saturday was awesome, so it is all good, right?

This week we are predicted to get snow followed by more sub-zero cold before finally warming up to ‘normal winter’ late in the week. Hopefully it will last this time.

Blog Love

I have linked out to Laura’s ‘This Is Thirty’ blog before, but since she is now 31 she decided to switch up the name to go with her focus. I always enjoy her stuff, and you should definitely check out her new site!

Check it out!

Spill-it-Sunday-option-2-1-300x300

And this week over at Arman’s site, the ‘Spill It Sunday’ is ‘Reality TV Edition’ – and this is going to be tough since I’m really not a fan.

1. What is your favourite Reality TV show?
Iron Chef / America – the multitude of ways things are made on each show, how ingredients are paired and so on – always learn something. We watch Chopped more often, but this one is always educational.

2. What competition reality TV show do you think would be your best shot of winning?
Chopped – I am a pretty decent cook and perform well under pressure. Not that I WOULD win … but I think I could do okay.

3. What is the worst reality TV show competition out there?
That is a tough one, because most of them don’t last 5 minutes on my screen … but the Rachel vs. Guy show is totally obnoxious and only reminds us that the ‘Next Food Network Star’ show also needs to go away.

4. A reality TV show you’d never admit to watching but secretly enjoy?
Cheaters – we only come across it occasionally, and it is one of those shows that is always the same, and generally awful, but occasionally there are moments that really make us laugh.

5. Which reality TV star do you find has accomplished something?
I think Iron Chef Michael Symon has done a lot – as a representative of Food Network he is a teacher, advocate, and constantly involved with cooking for improvement.

6. Worst Reality TV show?
Based on cultural impact alone it is hard to choose between Jersey Shore and Kardashians.

So what about you? How was YOUR running this week? Did you have better weather this week? And how about YOUR favorite reality TV shows?

Hope everyone has a great week!

12 thoughts on “Spill It Sunday – ‘Reality TV’ Edition and Weekly Running Recap

    • Wouldn’t it be nice if having all of these food shows contributed to people cooking / eating better? Sadly it doesn’t … and my least favorite thing is how the Food Network in particular has veered from mostly cooking-centric shows to competitions and ‘reality drama’ shows.

      Maybe it is my age, but I grew up on scripted shows and have little patience for all of the reality drama shows like Wife Swap, Real Housewives, etc (not saying they were better, just different)

      It is funny how obvious it is sometimes that things are scripted. That is what bores me with Cheaters so we only leave it on very rarely, and even then not for a long time – because it is all the same.

  1. hahaha My husband and I used to watch Cheaters when we had cable sometimes when we were bored late at night and we always thought it was funny! 🙂 I didn’t think anyone else actually watched it.

    Great week of running for you! We warmed up a bit then got FREEZING and now it is snowing a lot again…just an endless cycle 🙂

    • Cheaters is just awful – but people DO watch it, which is why it has been on for years. It is really pretty awful, highlighting some terrible people and situations.

      Thanks on the running – I was surprised I managed what I did, because everything felt like a slog once the temperatures dropped again. Looking forward to how you and Wes come back in the coming weeks! And of course how you proceed from there until you move!

    • Awesome, I hope you do – I feel we should all revel in our ‘guilty’ pleasures, not hide them! I mean, who cares? I was a huge fan of Revenge first season – pure trash that I loved. We still watch Matlock and ‘Heat of the Night’ reruns … wow they were bad shows, but so much fun!

    • I think it is always different live, I bet they are loads of fun in person … if you remember back to ‘Next Food Network Star’, Guy’s charisma is what kept him alive, because he certainly wasn’t the best cook. And we used to watch Rachel Ray back in the early days, she was awkward and would always laugh at her own bad jokes. Charming 🙂

  2. Well done on breaking 50 miles that is awesome!

    I always feel horrible watching cheaters as I guess I know what is coming and feel so bad for the person that has been cheated on.

    I never got Keeping Up with the Kardashians. But shamefully I did used to watch Jersey Shore before they all became famously obnoxious not just obnoxious 🙂

Leave a Reply

