Monday Mixtape – Rock, Pop & Hip-Hop Collection

Monday Mixtape

Monday Mixtape

If you follow my ‘What I’m Listening to Wednesday’ series, you know I gravitate towards ‘out there’ jazz’. But as much as anything, I am a total consumer of music, and I tend to go on ‘listening tangents’ – one song suggests another and another and then I have no idea where I might end up! Not sure if this will go anywhere, but for today I am going to list out 10 songs that have been spinning in my head this week!

So let’s get to it – and see if you like any of these jams!

A Tribe Called Quest – Award Tour (from Midnight Marauders) – I have always liked funky music, going back to Sly & The Family Stone. I got Tribe Called Quest’s ‘Low End Theory’ soon after it came out, and have always been a fan. I introduced my son, and he is now a huge fan. I have this song on ‘Anthology’, but we were digging the whole album.

Living Colour – Cult of Personality – He got his start in avant grade jazz with Ornette Coleman, and I saw Vernon Reid live with Ronald Shannon and the Decoding Society, but he hit it big as guitarist for Living Colour. They hit and were gone very quickly it seemed. Reid continues to cross-over between rock and jazz regularly.

Tears for Fears – Everybody Wants to Rule the World – I mentioned on Facebook that we watched the entirety of ‘Breakfast Club’ for the first time in years, and whenever I watch an 80s movie I go back to my faves, like ‘Better Off Dead’ and ‘Real Genius’ … so I was listening to a ‘Best of Tears for Fears’ album on Rdio.

Digable Planets ‘Reachin’ – Really the whole ‘Reachin’ album is pretty excellent, but it is Rebirth of Slick (Cool Like That) that exemplified the album, band and movement.

Capital Cities – Safe and Sound – This has been one of Chris’ jams for quite a while, and it came on someone’s radio when I was at work on Friday … so I pulled it up this weekend.

Kirill Pokrovsky – Flags of Freedom – Now bear with me, but the reason Capital Cities stuck with me is that the trumpet sound is nearly identical to one from the video game Divine Divinity. (sorry for the MEGO, Megan) Check it out and see what you think:

Bloodlines – Genitorturers – Lecher Bitch) – and once I started with video games, well … I was immediately drawn back to one of my favorite games and favorite soundtracks: Vampire the Masquerade: Bloodlines. And this song … well, not ‘easy listening’! 🙂 This branch of my music library, as well as ‘brutal death metal’ like Diftery – is a place no one in my family likes to venture!

Stevie Wonder – I Wish – I wanted to hear this song, and pulled up a ‘best of’ collection on Rdio, and as I listened I was struck once again at just how amazing Stevie is as a composer, performer, and artist. His time from the late 60s to early 80s produced some of the most amazing pop music ever made.

Red Hot Chili Peppers – Higher Ground – because my older son’s group plays a couple of Chili Peppers songs, there are always right there in my mind, and I love their take on this Stevie Wonder classic!

The Bangles – Eternal Flame – last weekend Lisa had a Bangles song stuck in her head, and while it was “If She Knew What She Wants” … we went through a number of songs, and it was this one that stuck with me all week!

Michael Jackson – Beat It (live from Motown 25) – and finally, this weekend I was looking to listen to Prince, and only have a limited selection on my iTunes (we have more on vinyl, but never imported), and so I drifted to Michael Jackson. I ended up listening to the Thriller album because it is pretty awesome, but when I came to do a YouTube link, this was the first one. And frankly, even though he is blatantly lip-syncing most of the song, if you aren’t moved by the dance moves he puts together … time to check your pulse!

So what is on YOUR ‘mixtape’ this Monday?

Leave a Reply

