Take Care Tuesday – #100HappyDays

20140318-065848.jpg

Either yesterday or today had a chance at sub-zero wind chills … neither succeeded! Isn’t THAT a reason to be happy?!?

I had a post about 90% done, then I came across this post at Chocolate Covered Race Medals about the ‘100 Days Challenge’, and I was intrigued. In the comments Liz from At 20Something noted that the challenge had a site to register with some basic rules, so I checked it out!

Here are the basics:

So first you register in the challenge >here<, then choose your favorite platform for submitting pictures. Here you can decide yourself on the privacy of your participation & happy moments:
– Share your picture via facebook, twitter or instagram with a public hashtag #100happydays;
– Come up with your own hashtagto share your pictures with to limit publicity. (Don’t forget to tell us how to find your pictures though šŸ˜‰ )
– Simply send your pictures to myhappyday (at) 100happydays.comto avoid any publicity.
And you’re ready to go! šŸ™‚

20140318-065859.jpg

The seaweed snacks from Megan’s gift box … with a taste that proves it really IS the thought that counts! šŸ™‚

Why is this worth doing?

People successfully completing the challenge claimed to:
– Start noticing what makes them happy every day;
– Be in a better mood every day;
– Start receiving more compliments from other people;
– Realize how lucky they are to have the life they have;
– Become more optimistic;
– Fall in love during the challenge.

Even when the challenge is over the collected 100 happy moments can always remind you about the beauty of your life. For that, you can receive a little 100 page book with your 100 happy daysat the finish line of the challenge!

20140318-065909.jpg

Riley has taken to snuggling under the blanket on the couch recently … not at all a bad thing!

Here are my thoughts:

I know a number of people who are impacted to various degrees by SAD (seasonal affected disorder), and also a few who are struggling with depression … a ton of people fighting the ‘winter blahs’ after this brutal start to 2014!

This is not a ‘cure’ for anything or a substitute to getting professional help if you need it … it is a daily attempt to focus on something that brings you joy and happiness in your life, and sharing it with the world.

Is that such a bad thing? I don’t think so – and so I am going to try it! I have already done two days, and am finding more than a few things to be happy about – I included some of them here.

So what are YOUR thoughts? Are you up for the challenge?

15 thoughts on “Take Care Tuesday – #100HappyDays

  1. This sounds fun! Sometimes I’ve been very good about sticking with the challenges I commit to. That said, other than running 100 miles, I did not commit to any this month.

    • I think that sticking with a challenge is incredibly important … like so many other things once it becomes too easy to set aside challenges, they lose meaning.

    • That is how I look at it – I don’t post everyday on Instagram, but if I go out of my way for a few months and do one thing I am happy about, it could be fun. Or a hassle. Who knows … but I intend to find out!

    • haha – I KNOW it is very healthy, and it wasn’t as salty as I expected, but was the epitome of ‘really fishy’ in terms of flavor. All four of us tried it, and I was the only one who ate an entire piece. The dogs wouldn’t touch it. šŸ™‚

  2. This sounds like a great challenge! I know first hand about seasonal affective disorder and depression. It so important to focus each day on the little things that make you happy especially when the weather isn’t exactly the best!

    • I know Sara – and I remember on your blog recommending that you make lists of things you DO like about Erie. The amazing thing is that there ARE things … and you will find them eventually, regardless of never wanting to return. That is always true for us with our houses or vacations or whatever …

  3. What a great idea! I’ve seen this pop up on my Facebook a bit and had wondered what it was all about, anything linked with happiness can’t be bad šŸ™‚ might have to give it a go, although could be a bit tricky when traveling without internet access everyday

  4. I’ve seen the #100HappyDays hashtag all around, but this is the most I’ve learned about it until now! What a wonderful idea! I think I’m going to sign myself up. Some days work gets so stressful and everything seems to be going wrong…it will be nice to have that little moment to remember that life really is wonderful once you dig through the tough stuff.

    Mmmm seaweed chips haha.

Leave a Reply

