Spill It Sunday ‘Carbohydrates’, Weekly Running Recap, and Weekend Fun!

20140320-060034.jpg

Happy Sunday – I hope everyone is having a fantastic weekend! I think we have finally made it out of this CRAZY cold winter – this was the first week without a sub-zero morning! And as we got into the week we had mornings close to 40F, so it wasn’t even like most late-winter days where it hits 40 or so in the afternoon but is in the teens for the morning! There is the chance of snow this week, but that type of late winter snow that will not be a big deal and then we will be in the 50s by the end of the week. Ah spring …

The top picture is from one of the mornings this week, as I have started peeling away the winter layers and switching to thinner hats and gloves. Still a ways to go until we are at tossing on a shirt and shorts, but we are getting there! As I have also noted, two of my goals I have been happy with are less dawdling before my runs and just reading before bed (no computer time). The combination of good weather and less dawdling is apparent in my daily mileage as I was thrilled to be out there … any concerns I had about ‘getting going’ were quickly eliminated by Tuesday!

Isn’t it funny how we can question the ‘greater meaning’ of inertia when it is something like sustained crappy weather bogging us down? That is true for so many different things …

Here is my weekly summary:

Sunday: 10.75 Miles
Monday: 3F … 7.25 miles
Tuesday: 9.75 miles
Wednesday: 9.25 miles
Thursday: 9.25 miles
Friday: 8.75 miles
Saturday Rest day

I was thrilled not just with my mileage but also my running – to paraphrase Jack Nicholson from Batman, good weather can put steam in a man’s stride! 55.25 miles, and I had already decided that I wasn’t running at all this weekend, so it was good that I had such a great running week that I wasn’t even concerned about getting ‘long runs’ over the weekend!

Crazy Saturday Fun!

The idea of taking the weekend off turned out perfect, as we ended up just crazy busy the entire day on Saturday and Sunday morning is a blur of exhaustion as I finish up this post.

So what was going on? Mostly Danny’s junior prom … but Chris had a DJ gig for the ‘Beauty Scene’ event at Macy’s. The store manager put him next to juniors, and he had the place jamming to pop and dance music all afternoon, then we had a great evening while Danny was at prom.

20140323-020825.jpg

Danny’s prom was quite the whirlwind. Lisa took the whole weekend off so we could get stuff done. Danny, Lisa and Chris headed to get their nails done so Danny would look extra fancy in his tux. First they headed to the florist – and joined the line of people whose orders were messed up! Eventually they got the correct flowers and dropped them home on their way to the nail salon.

Dan’t best friend joined him at our house to finish getting ready, then we headed to a meet-up house for pictures. This picture is Danny and his girlfriend, a senior (meaning we have another prom date next month!) headed to Cornell next year. She is super nice and it is great seeing how much they care for each other.

20140323-020847.jpg

It was a great weekend, but totally exhausting … we have a fundraiser for marching band tonight, and I think that will likely be all we can muster for the rest of the day!

Spill-it-Sunday-option-2-1-300x300

And this week over at Arman’s site, the ‘Spill It Sunday’ is ‘Carbs’ – one of the most controversial things we put into our bodies.

1. What is your all time favourite carbohydrate based food/dish?

I would have to say fruit salad. Yeah, probably cheating – but I don’t care! I LOVE fruit, and could eat it all the time. In fact, I always have it with breakfast and lunch, have pears for afternoon snack, and a mix of fresh and frozen berries has become my go-to after-dinner ‘sweet treat’.

2. What is your favourite fruit?

Um … Yes? At various points it would have been apples … or pears … papaya … grapes … strawberries … mangoes … kiwi … aw forget it, I just love fruit!

3. What is your favourite grain?

Probably quinoa or bulgur at this point. I love so many different ones and am willing to try just about anything. Love wheat flour in recipes and also rice flour. I like ‘functional grains’ more than bulking up on breading.

4. What is your favourite starchy vegetable?

Definitely sweet potato. For so many years it was restricted to thanksgiving, making me resent when people would serve a sweet potato pie rather than just baked sweet potatoes; I would also choose it with steak at restaurants when possible. Now we have it every week.

5. Which carb receives unfair flack? Which carb is most overrated?

I would say that rice gets unfair flack – it seems that in the race to replace everything with quinoa, flax, and so on, we forget that quinoa and brown rice are actually fairly comparable in terms of nutritional content. Again, it isn’t a ‘super food’ … but having brown rice or wild rice with meals is a nice addition.

Over-rated? Quinoa and oats – these are healthy grains, and excellent things to have as part of meals, but they are not the ‘super-foods’ some would like to claim. They are good, but can’t hold their own against comparable quantities of fruits or vegetables.

6. Link up a favourite carb embracing recipe (it can be your own or another bloggers!)

One I haven’t made since earlier this winter is Quinoa Corn Chowder, just a slight variation off of this recipe. I always have loved corn chowder, so this healthier variation is fantastic.

7. What is YOUR perception of this macronutrient?

I think that carbs have gotten a bad rap, as the ‘low carb’ craze has been focused on the wrong thing. Again, it isn’t about totally limiting the intake of carbs, but rather limiting the ‘crap’ components – junk food, processed grains, bleached low-nutrient flours and white rice, and so on.

Basically, your body REQUIRES carbs, but you have a choice where to get them – choose whole, real food sources.

8. What benefits do CARBS play in YOUR personal eating habits?

I try to get most of my carbs through fruits and vegetables, and that is a good idea because they are nutrient rich, and also because I love them. I find that they help me eat properly and also keep me satisfied and away from junk food snack.

So what about you? How was YOUR running this week? Did you have better weather this week? And how do YOU feel on the subject of carbs and carbohydrate sources?

Hope everyone has a great week!

16 thoughts on “Spill It Sunday ‘Carbohydrates’, Weekly Running Recap, and Weekend Fun!

  1. Great post. I agree with you about carbs. we don’t really keep breads and such in our house. I too prefer getting mine from fruits and veggies. Carbs themselves aren’t the bad guys. It is just processed stuff I avoid. I think the whole diet industry misinforms people.

    • We have cut way back on breads, and I am considering how to cut back on it myself … right now it is my peanut butter toast and not much else. Like you say, it isn’t carbs themselves – and totally agree on the diet industry.

  2. Looks like an awesome weekend, and your mileage is really picking up! It makes me a bit jealous as I’m tapering, but my body definitely needed it. Love both pictures of your sons and, as always, reading about your family!

    • Thanks again Laura … I was enjoying the warmer weather, today was back to 8F with wind. We all had so much fun but need a weekend to recover form our weekend! 🙂

  3. Wow! Congrats on those miles. That’s impressive with such cold weather. I agree with you on the carbs. I remember when eating them was the thing and then not eating them became the thing. I try to eat everything balanced and avoid processed foods.

    • And here I was thinking it was warm last week! 🙂

      I have always tried to stay away from the fads, to just eat balanced. Thanks for the perspective and I hope you are continuing to heal!

    • I am always on the money trail – there is always a book or video or website selling a plan, and regardless of what happens to you they make money. I love carbs as well, and will continue to enjoy them regardless of the current trend!

  4. What a great bunch of miles. Nice job!

    Love the photos of your sons. Also I love her dress. That is simple gorgeous.

    Finally, yes I could write a mininovel on carbohydrates. They get such a terrible rap for no reason. They are so important (especially for distance running). i wish more people understood this!

    • Thanks Hollie! I have been loving your series on the Shamrock as well!

      Totally agree on carbs – and I think it is again a reminder that all carbs are not equal, just like everything else.

      Thanks again on the pictures … such a proud weekend. And really love the girlfriend – despite being tiny … she eats right with the boys, which I love! No denying, no restriction, just sensible eating and activity.

  5. That is so cool about the DJ gig! Way to go, Chris! And Danny and his girlfriend look fantastic for prom! What a great looking couple. 🙂

    I’m glad it has finally gotten a little warmer up there for you! We hit 70 on Saturday and I was kind of sad to be resting in prep for yesterday or I would have loved to get out for a run.

    As far as carbs go…serve them up. I will never forget the first trimester of my pregnancy with B. I call it the Carb-mester because that was all I ate and the only thing that helped me feel not sick.

    • It is really hard when you need rest or your schedule won’t allow a run and it just happens to be the nicest day in a while! At least we can see nice weather on the horizon … though between now and then we’ve had two sub-10F mornings, and tomorrow it will struggle to break 20F all day!

  6. Glad your experiment is progressing well! I am a carb freak. I tried to do atkins back in the day and made it a few days. I realized pretty quick that any weight I lost would come back the second I ate carbs again-and I was GOING to eat them again. 🙂

    • The ‘experiment’ is a work in progress as is all of life, ups and downs 🙂 And I think part of the problem is some have a limited view of what carbs even ARE!

  7. Spot on with your description of carbs. Mass media and a few fad diets killed carbs, but like you say, the real enemy is the crappy processed stuff and excessive refined sugars. Our group at Weight Watchers likes to laugh (laughing with us, not at us) about how my wife and I were “scared” of white potatoes, corn, and bananas when we first started, because of all the bad press they receive. Now they’re staples for us, part of a diet that has us the healthiest we’ve ever been.

    • That is one of the things I loved when my wife was in WW – that it teaches a (mostly) healthy way to look at food, real cooking, and making information-based choices.

Leave a Reply

