Wordless Wednesday – The Oatmeal Nails Marathons … Again!

jitters

Just a quickie today (for real) – I LOVE the web comic ‘The Oatmeal’ and the extent to which he ‘gets’ runners (and especially ‘former fatty’ runners) is a blast to read. Two things – a cool new comic and an upcoming book!

The new comic is called ‘The Dos and Do Nots of Running Your First Marathon’, and it is hilarious. I don’t want to spoil too much of the fun, but I grabbed part of the ending sequence of panels below.

Also, Matthew Inman, the creator of The Oatmeal, is releasing a book in September called “The Terrible and Wonderful Reasons Why I Run Long Distances “. Here is part of the description:

This is not just a book about running. It’s a book about cupcakes. It’s a book about suffering.

 It’s a book about gluttony, vanity, bliss, electrical storms, ranch dressing, and Godzilla. It’s a book about all the terrible and wonderful reasons we wake up each day and propel our bodies through rain, shine, heaven, and hell.

end

Have you seen this comic? What did you think?

21 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday – The Oatmeal Nails Marathons … Again!

    • Whew – since I scheduled this yesterday I have seen it shared on Facebook about one billion times (including by me) so I am glad that someone hasn’t seen it πŸ™‚ And if you haven’t read his stuff, he has a monumental comic series on running that is totally worth the time.

  1. I love the Oatmeal! I saw this comic the other day, but actually didn’t read it because for some reason I thought it wasn’t new. I will read it right after submitting this comment! I’m sure it will be witty and full of truths because it is Matthew Inman, after all. Have you read his blog post from a couple years ago about running an ultramarathon? Good stuff.

    • Definitely! I don’t remember when I first saw his stuff, but have always tried to keep up. I also assumed this was old until I saw his notes that this is new and from the upcoming book.

    • We are all nerds, right? Whether it is over a new video game, the latest hot new phone, or running gear … we all love to geek out over something cool πŸ™‚

  2. The Oatmeal is one of my favorite comics and I was over the moon when I found out about the new book! I am DEFINITELY getting it. πŸ™‚

    The best part about that comic is that it is 110% true. I had to laugh at all of it because I saw so much of myself and other people I know in it!

  3. I totally thought about posting a link to that comic on FB this morning, but I didn’t see it until I was about to leave for work. Already looking forward to his book!

  4. They should add in…DO starve yourself the day before your marathon. After 18 weeks of immaculate eating and training, the only thing that can mess you up now is a mild bloated feeling from rice and white bread. Stick to 1000 calories or less the day before.

    Oh, wait, I already did that!

    I never followed The Oatmeal, but I had seen this comic, it was published in the July issue of Runner’s World.

Leave a Reply

