Apparently I Don’t DO ‘Rest Days’, and My Weekly Summary

20140629-223252-81172910.jpg

The boys played in the band at the high school graduation, then we went to Buffalo Wild Wings where they messed up half our order and just kept bringing us food … which we ate!

This weekend was another ‘mostly unplugged’ time, since Lisa was off again (sweet schedule!). We got loads of time together, figuring out plans for vacation, took the kids to lunch after they played at the high school graduation (it is such an event they have it at the First Arena), and then tried to patch some hoses and Lisa’s bike tire (wasn’t happening!). But we have a spare bike, so we decided to take a trip. It was a blast!

Sunday we had a relaxing breakfast on the deck, then after discussing college visit plans for the summer Lisa and I headed up to Watkin’s Glen to hike the gorge trails. Again, it was awesome.

But I had to laugh, because part of my thought running a double on Friday was that I would be ‘resting’ this weekend. Not so much – we were on the go the whole time! Here are some cool pics:

20140629-223252-81172791.jpg

Family bike trip followed by some laps around the local park trail.

20140629-223253-81173020.jpg

I’ll finish the post … but first, y’know

20140629-223253-81173187.jpg

Back up the path, you can see people under the falls to the left and the cross-bridge in the distance.

20140629-223253-81173308.jpg

Lisa with some whitewater rapids in the background

20140629-223253-81173433.jpg

I’m wearing the Merrell All-Out Rush shoes, which were great for the trails. That shirt is a Medium … hard to believe it is so huge (vanity sizing, I would say!

20140629-223253-81173524.jpg

OMG I want ALL the ice cream … Lisa got a small because at the Glen Dairy Bar they are big. I got a large because it is a monstrosity!

My Running Summary

Another week without a Sunday or Saturday … but I was just totally feeling the runs this week. The boys were off school so I didn’t have to be exact at getting home to get them going … so I ran more! Because of travel last year that didn’t happen as much, so this year I am enjoying it. I also had my Houston trip, so I took advantage of the great waterway for my runs (and honestly, it wasn’t all that hot while I was there). Let’s take a look:

Sunday: ‘Rest’ day (5 mile hike)
Monday: 18 miles, 2:27 (10 morning, 8 afternoon)
Tuesday: 9.75 miles, Abs, 2:15 plank
Wednesday: 10.50 miles, Abs, 2:39 plank
Thursday: 10.5, Abs, 2:07 plank
Friday: 22.25 miles, Abs, 2:32 plank (12.75 morning, 9.5 evening)
Saturday ‘Rest’ day (7 mile bike, 1 mile walk)

This was a weird week with two rest’ days and two doubles and a total of just over 71 miles – which put me back up over 70 again … not planned but thoroughly enjoyable as the weather was great!

Have you ever hiked a gorge? How often do you run ‘doubles’?

32 thoughts on “Apparently I Don’t DO ‘Rest Days’, and My Weekly Summary

    • Someone should have brought you an ice cream like that after you finished your half! Congrats again!

      Doubles are very tricky and not to be taken lightly – not only do you have chronic fatigue to deal with, you have likely worked all day in between so you have extra tiredness, and need to really deal with hydration. I like them on occasion … but they can really wipe you out as well.

  1. Ahhhhh! You had such a great weekend, it seems! All of you look soooo happy. It’s fantastic! I’m yet to go on a hike with my hubby, but I can’t complain since I ran the Spartan Sprint yesterday, and I guess it kind of qualifies as ‘speedy hiking’ ahahah πŸ™‚ I’m glad that the location was as always beautiful and got to take in the beauty of nature.

    I also haven’t run doubles yet, but it does seem like a great idea. I’ll definitely give it a try sometime soon. My Spartan Beast is only 4 weeks away, so the beast mode is ON!!! πŸ˜€

    xoxo

    • Thanks Olena! I am very fortunate to have such great kids and a wonderful wife – makes me very happy.

      I loved reading about your Spartan race and can’t wait for your ‘Beast’! That is some crazy stuff! πŸ™‚

  2. I love doubles. I used to do them all summer long. They get you in great shape running wise and physically (hello shed a few pounds). I am a big fan of them but you have to be wise and make sure you take a true day off. They also make you feel pretty bad ass!

    That gorge looks….well gorgeous. I love a good hiking day with my husband as a day off activity. Sometimes true days off are hard because we love activity and want to do things with the family. It is worth it in the long run. Beautiful pics.

    • Thanks Sarah – yeah, being in Kentucky last year gave me a taste for doubles … so I like to do them on occasion! Hiking is a wonderful ‘together time’ – there were loads of couples there together yesterday.

      The scenery was really great and the weather was perfect … and even a hack like me could manage decent pictures,. πŸ™‚

  3. That ice cream cone looks insane, but you deserve that thing with that high mileage week (and just because, really) And yes, from your schedule it’s apparent that you don’t like rest days, but I say live while you’re alive you know? If you’re feeling well, I say go for it πŸ™‚

    • I hadn’t made the connection at first, but Lisa told me she was buying me ice cream after we hiked and it suddenly hit me ‘Glen Dairy Bar’! Oh yeah! πŸ™‚

      I love your comments on having aha moments this past weekend – which wasn’t the first time for you πŸ™‚ – because it IS so hard to manage rest days and let yourself off the hook. But it is so important!

  4. Nice job, I’m actually taking some running rest this week. I never schedule rest days but normally do it when my body is feeling it. You had a solid week of training so nice work!

    • Thanks Hollie! Some days are a slog in the humidity – as you well know – but in general it is feeling awesome πŸ™‚ Great job yourself – love your June summary (and the new blog look!)

  5. That ice cream looks AMAZING! As do your pictures of where you hiked, but clearly my eyes were drawn to the ice cream πŸ˜‰

    I’ve done doubles a few times, but baby ones. Like, less than a mile during the day when I took a “5K for Beginners” course at work, then 2 miles that evening with my running buddy. Honestly I tried to avoid them when I could!

    • haha – my wife thinks I am an idiot for doing doubles … and she is probably right πŸ™‚ But I like them on occasion anyway!

      As for the ice cream, I understand that is the star of the show – my picture was a selfie because Lisa couldn’t even manage to take her hands off of hers! haha

  6. I used to do a lot of hiking out in California and your pictures make me miss it! It’s so gorgeous out there! Such perfect weather this weekend to enjoy it too. And that ice cream. OMG. I want it.

    Haha your Buffalo Wild Wings experience sounds similar to one that my mom and I had at Friday’s last week. All the food and then we ended up not having to pay for it. So instead we left a really big tip since it wasn’t out waitress’ fault. πŸ™‚

    • Yeah, our waitress was well taken care of as well!

      This area of NY has so much natural beauty with the Finger Lakes, wine country, and all of the gorges for hiking and exploring. It is pretty cool.

  7. Sounds like a wonderful week and I WANT/NEED that ice cream!! I think I may make up an excuse to take Ashton for ice cream soon!! πŸ™‚ I did a few double runs during my Boston training, I liked them. I often do doubles during the week with my regular workouts so I can get in everything I want to do in a day, which can sometimes be hard in one session with that pesky thing called work πŸ˜‰

    We love to hike, although our hikes don’t usually look as beautiful as yours! Great pics!

    • Well, you’re close(isn) to my fave ice cream ever – Kimball Farms in Westford! But seriously … this place has great soft-serve with dips. And yeah, doing doubles with work and family can really be a challenge – which is why I did better when I was away for work haha πŸ™‚

      We also used to hike Mount Monadnock in southern NH which was loads of fun … but never when our boys were as little as Ashton. There is time πŸ™‚

  8. I love it when I get an ice cream cone as big as my head. I would guess I only do it once or twice a year, but there’s just something about making my 8 year old dreams come true that it’s so wonderful.

    Last year I did doubles on at least 100 days thanks to a running commute. This year, not so much…

    • haha Ice cream is something that I will simply do what I want. Unless it is one of a couple situations, I get a nice small scoop in a bowl. But this place? hugest size, please πŸ™‚

  9. Last time I ran a double was when I had to take the car in for repairs, run 3 miles home in the morning, run 3 miles back in the evening, skip the courtesy shuttle.

    >70 mile week is hardcore. This morning I was reminiscing about my peak 50 mile weeks during marathon training, kinda missing that volume but also kinda not missing the scheduling burden that comes with it. Good job by you.

    Your mountain of ice cream is glorious. I had my first real ice cream in ages this weekend, ben & jerry’s chocolate brownie. So unbelievably rich, I thought I was hallucinating.

    • You might have been hallucinating due to the sugar overload! haha

      For me the logistics actually ease in the summer as the kids are off school, so like this morning I wasn’t done so I ended up with 11.4 miles … it is a great luxury I know, so I take advantage because it will be sub-zero again before I know what hit me!

  10. The only time I run doubles are SOMETIMES on my easy day when I do a short run in the morning and then run trails with a group run in the evening. They usually only run around 3-4 so I do a few in the morning as well.

    This week is my step back week so I am looking forward to relax a bit more than usual and enjoying some time with family!

    • Sara – you KNOW I worry about you and injuries … because I think it is in your nature to PUSH – so I was thrilled by your step-back week. We all train differently and I think as you said a few weeks ago that for you resting is super-critical … so take advantage – and have an awesome bunch of family time!

  11. Can’t say I have ever run a double, I have thought about if but was afraid I wouldn’t be able to handle it. After reading some peoples post about them though it seems like it isn’t that abnormal for people to do

    • I think most people who do it smart (i.e. unlike me) take their daily goal (maybe their plan has them doing 6 miles ) and split it in half – 3 in the morning and 3 at night. Then try increasing each segment by a bit and slowly work up to doing a double-6, or whatever. Just be careful …

  12. I’m so glad you got another mostly unplugged time, and a family bike trip! Sounds like a great week, and it’s great that Houston wasn’t too hot. πŸ™‚

  13. I am starting to double about 4-5 times a week. Now it isn’t as bad as it sounds. One run is with Bennie – (1-3 miles), but I don’t consider them junk miles, because they are done between a 7:00 to 9:00 minute mile pace, according to how hard he pulls me that day – darn Jack Russell Terrier is such a big brute ;-). Then I go ahead and do my scheduled training run either right after or later in the day.

    Glad you got in a lot of quality miles last week, still was able to stay sort of unplugged and spend a little more time with wife an family, it is nice when that happen πŸ™‚

    • I have been enjoying your Bennie-run descriptions … don’t ever underestimate a terrier! And I think that has served as a great way to break up your runs.

    • They put the cone into a kiddie cone-holder which helped, but that place is really good with how they build cones. I was surprised how well it kept together!

Leave a Reply

