Very Inspiring Blogger Award

very-inspirational-blogger

Just about two weeks ago I got a message that I had been nominated for a “Very Inspiring Blogger Award” by Running to Her Dreams … which is really cool and I want to thank her for thinking of me!

UPDATE: This morning as I went to check out the latest from #mamaSalt I found out that she had also nominated me … and also Sara’s blog mentioned below! So check them both out if you aren’t already following.

The steps for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award are as follows:

1. Thank the person who nominated you. Thanks again!
2. Add the Very Inspiring Blogger Award to your post-done
3. Share seven things about yourself.
4 & 5. Nominate a list of bloggers that inspire you and (5) Post on their blog about it.

I had planned to skip #4 & 5, but then a new blogger – friends with #mamaSalt so you KNOW she’s cool – launched her blog this week, so I am nominating Sweaty Mess Mama! I’ll let her know on her blog!

This will actually be my FOURTH awards post this year! I had the ‘Sisterhood’ post, Liebster Award post, and a Many Awards post! This means you already have had to endure too much nonsense about me, so …

I have decided to use the ‘TMI Survey’ Aimee posted about here:

1. What are you wearing?

[Jake from State Farm voice] Khakis. Seriously, typing this over lunch at work, so … my famous #FlatsFriday shoes, khakis and a blue button button down shirt. Preppie much? Yeah – I have worn the same thing for 30+ years!

2. Ever been in love?

Yes.

3. Ever had a terrible breakup?

Fortunately NO! I’ve had my heart broken, been strung along and used … but I guess one upside of being obese is that most people will stop leading you on when you express romantic interest and they are using you (oh, you thought because I expressed interest and said ‘yes’ to going to that formal couples-centric dinner-dance that I was interested in you THAT way?!?!)

4. How tall are you?

6’1″ … which used to be tall until my boys passed me!

5. How much do you weigh?

~175-185lbs, last check was 180. My doctor and Lisa would like me at 185, I like me at 175 … so right now this works πŸ™‚

6. Any tattoos?

No, never, never, no. Totally not a ‘me’ thing.

7. Any piercings?

See tatoos.

8. Favorite song?

I wrote about this here, and here is the quote:

within that 27 minutes there is everything I love about music; elements of classical, rock, funk, soul, free jazz, fusion and so on.

And it really is one of the singular pieces of modern music, featuring a double quartet (two drums, two basses and two keyboards) as well as multiple ‘world music’ influences and contributions from rock and classical and funk music. Yet it has a harder edge than so much ‘free jazz’ of the period while remaining harmonically tethered and loose all at once. The musicians were young and dynamic, and so while they had no preconceived ideas of what was happening … once the recording started they let loose with some of the greatest music of the last century.

Here is a live version from the Tanglewood Jazz Festival (in Western Massachusetts):

And here is the original album version … all 27 glorious minutes …

9. Quality you look for in a partner?

Honesty.

10. Favorite quote?

No damn cat, and no damn cradle.” Kurt Vonnegut, from ‘Cat’s Cradle’

11. Favorite actor?

Tough one as nobody jumped to my mind as THE one … but when I did my Films list, the actor I would pull from there is Clint Eastwood (from The Good The Bad and The Ugly)… so there you go.

12. Loud music or soft?

I find ‘loud’ or ‘soft’ an odd set of descriptors … I might go ‘ordered’ or chaotic’, ‘melodic’ or ‘atonal’ … but hey, since I like all of that stuff, let’s just play it LOUD! πŸ™‚ I definitely surprised the woman walking her dog this morning with my blaring early 1950’s Miles Davis tunes!

13. Where do you go when you’re sad?

For a run. Or sit in our formal living room.

14. How long does it take you to get ready in the morning?

My elapsed time from wake up until I leave for work is usually 3 hours … including

15. Ever been in a physical fight?

Not since the 5th grade when Vinny Eisenhauer drew a picture and called me ‘elephant with earrings’.

16. Turn on?

Warn & honest eyes, inviting smile.

17. Turn off?

Deception, meanness, lack of eye contact.

18. Fears?

Another one I covered in my ’10 Days of You’ series!

19. Last thing that made you cry?

‘The Fault in Our Stars’.

20. Last time you said you loved someone?

Texting Lisa while typing the response to #15.

21. Meaning behind your YouTube name?

‘txa1265’ is a long-standing name – it is as simple as my fraternity (Theta Xi Fraternity, Alpha Chapter), and my roll number 1265.

22. The relationship between you and the last person you texted?

I’m her husband.

23. Favorite food?

Really tough – choice between pears, sweet potatoes and ice cream … just impossible.

24. Place you want to visit?

London with the whole crew.

25. Do you have a crush?

My heart still flutters when I see Lisa walk in the door and she gives me that wonderful smile and a big hug.

26. Last time you kissed someone?

This morning before I left for work … but she was only half-awake πŸ™‚

27. Last time you were insulted?

Hmmm … hard to think of anything.

28. Favorite piece of jewelry?

My wedding ring followed by the claddagh ring Lisa gave me after the boys were born. Actually those are the only two things I wear.

24 thoughts on “Very Inspiring Blogger Award

    • That’s right – I was trying to remember who was my buddy as well when writing this! haha the ‘anderson’ should serve as a reminder to me … maybe next time πŸ™‚

  1. We are coming up on our one year anniversary. Reading about the way you feel about your wife and marriage inspires me. It is refreshing to see men who are in love with their wives and in love with marriage. It is part of why I enjoy reading your posts.

    • Wow … I remember you talking about 6 months what seems like yesterday! Awesome! And thanks – I really appreciate it, and figure what good is a blog if it doesn’t reflect what really matters to me, right?

  2. Haha omg it’s like we share a brain today! I also accepted one of these AND nominated you AND told everyone to head over and visit my friend, Sara!! I was always wondering what the TXA stood for and now I know! Great answers all around and love the Miles Davis too. πŸ™‚

    • So cool – I am surprised I didn’t have to answer any ‘username’ type questions before now! And Sara seems quite cool – and it is awesome to have you as a supporter for her- getting started can get discouraging relying on organic growth. On the flip side now she has all this attention really fast! πŸ™‚

  3. You are such a good husband! And I love the 3 favorite foods! Ice cream was always a huge part of my life and I even had a job at Friendly’s in high school making sundaes all day. I am actually pretty bad with eye contact out of shyness, not meanness, and it’s something I always have to consciously work on.

    • Ah Friendly’s … there was one right on the main street near downtown where I grew up that was a hotspot and great place for kids to work. Took my first ‘date’ (5th grade) there … πŸ™‚

      There is a distinct difference between being shy and being ‘shifty’. In other words, one is about avoiding and the other is about not being comfortable. You are a warm and kind person … it is pretty easy to guess where you would fall πŸ™‚

  4. It seriously fills my heart with joy whenever you talk about Lisa. I can only hope that Alex’s heart flutters a bit when I walk in the room–and out of love not fear. What you two have is truly incredible.

    • Thanks Suz … I feel very fortunate, and know that when the boys are away at college and beyond Lisa and I will be all set with the million things we want to share!

      And “out of love not fear.” haha

  5. Pingback: Sunday Vacation Day, Award-Worthy and Weekly Summary! | Running Around the Bend

  6. I started a draft of the TMI questions when I read Aimee’s post, but it’s still a work in progress for me. But I’m going to add pictures for the “what I’m wearing” and piercings (yeah, ears), so I’m using that as an excuse for why it’s taking it so long to pull it together. I’m definitely more of a blog reader than a writer, and your blog is one good example of why — so much interesting stuff to read!

  7. Pingback: 30 Days of Gratitude – Day #18, Being Recognized | Running Around the Bend

Leave a Reply

