This … (Five Fave Things Right Now)

I laughed the other day when I read Laura at Fit Fresh & Funny introducing her ‘ABCs and 123s’ post by saying “shamelessly stealing this from Mike, because he’s always got the best ideas for a blog post!” Isn’t that something we ALL do?!? I mean, I grabbed the ‘alphabet post’ from Amanda at Running With Spoons from a two year old post she did, which I assume was part of a popular post-scheme at the time … since there seem to be ‘campaigns’ that make the rounds.

Well, in that vein … almost two weeks ago I loved this post over at The Girl Who Ran Everywhere … so naturally I stole the idea πŸ™‚ So let’s get rolling with it, and if you like maybe you should steal it as well!

ChrisRead1

This … is my favorite picture right now. I found this as I was trolling my old blog, and it has always been a fave. Chris has always been an avid and adventurous reader, and always loved to fill his bed with stuffed animals and always had a book or two going. Before this he had taken to comparing his kids’ bible to the full good news bible after seeing a VeggieTales episode on ‘Daniel in the Lion’s Den’. As I noted at the time “When I walked into his room, I expected him to be reading on of the Droon or Narnia books, or perhaps a Garfield book … but this floored me and I had to capture the moment.”

20140805-163431-59671641.jpg

This … is my favorite room in the house, with our inherited cat sitting by my side. She only comes out of the basement when the dogs are out, and was snuggling with me for a while the other day, moving from side to side and walking across the keyboard. I love the room because there is no TV and it is away from the main kitchen-dining-family room hustle and bustle, making it relaxing and peaceful.

My beautiful picture

This … is a moment that popped into my head recently as we were discussing Massachusetts. It is from Danny’s first birthday and he had a cool ‘ball pit’ that he loved to play in, and this was one of those great moments where we were able to capture him in action yet still for just a moment. I really love the look on his face.

20140805-075355-28435612.jpg

This … is my love of over-tracking and measuring everything in one image. Garmin FR-15, Polar Loop and Magellan Echo … all great fitness tracking tools, each with their own strengths and weaknesses.

Sandals1

This … is where I want to be, who I want to be with, and where we hope to be for our 25th. We went to Sandals Antigua for our honeymoon, and they had ‘resort photographers’ constantly taking pictures around, and you could buy them … and this one we actually liked enough to pay the $5 or $10 (can’t remember anymore). Years ago we thought ‘let’s go back for our 25th’, which sounds awesome … until you realize that we will have two kids in college at the time! So we are not sure if or how it will happen, but as of now it remains a goal.

What are YOU loving now?

18 thoughts on “This … (Five Fave Things Right Now)

  1. Love this idea and will be stealing this at some point in the next few weeks πŸ™‚ I am loving the sound and feel of my feet hitting the pavement on my runs, the feel of the wind on my face as I fly down hills on my bike, the sound of the boys’ belly laughter when they’re doing something mischievous together, diving into new books and old favorite movies, knowing that I get to head to Maryland tomorrow afternoon for the night for a race and then Joe time on Sunday, and long chats with friends and family throughout the day and evening πŸ™‚

    • Just your words make me smile – thanks for sharing and look forward to seeing your pictures. I know you have a load of stress right now, so it is great thinking about all of the great things in your life!

  2. Wow to the honeymoon picture! My husband are always saying things like “sure let’s do that for our 10th, or 20th whatever” and “yeah it will be totally manageable then” and in reality there will still be lots of stuff going on with the kids, to pay for that will have to come first. Hopefully you guys can swing it or maybe just put it off for a couple of years and then still get there πŸ™‚

    • haha – totally hear you Michele! The funny thing is that the math is easy, we knew it was out there, but just never really thought that much about it. Now that it is a few years away we are actually thinking ‘how can we make that happen’. This trip when we grabbed a drink & snack at a rest stop on the Mass Pike we said ‘had this money gone into an account, and the same every other week, we could easily pay for the trip’. It is a great way to break things down.

  3. I always wonder if having all of the technological bits next to each other mess with there accuracy. What are your thoughts?
    This…is a great post. Happy 25 years!

    • Thanks Suz!

      My thoughts are ‘it depends’. In the case of my wrist, I had one thing on Bluetooth, another with GPS and the third with a gyroscope and accelerometer. So I am pretty comfortable there is no interference. In terms of multiple GPS units, I tend to have their faces in opposite sides of my wrist, and I have never seen an impact, but that would be my biggest concern.

  4. Totally have a similar post planned for later this month. πŸ™‚ Hope you can make it back to Sandals for your anniversary! I went to a Sandals for my honeymoon and we had a great time. Haven’t taken a vacation like that since. Love the pics of your kids.

    • Thanks Sara! πŸ™‚ It is always great looking back at when the boys were little like that! I’m glad we have loads of pictures, and know you will have the same with Ash in the years to come!

  5. Love this idea! Don’t be surprised if it gets stolen! I love the over-elecrtonic photo. I have definitely worn a couple of watches on my arm to test which one I like the best. #closetnerd

    • Haha – I look forward to you sharing πŸ™‚ Yeah – on the one hand I post about no-electronic runs, and on the other I go out regularly with multiple tracking devices! Serious issues πŸ™‚

  6. I love this. That pic of your little one year old just melts my heart. And I absolutely love the reading in bed…with two books! There is a lot of love captured in these. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

