Five Things Friday – For the Love of Twin Peaks

TP-one3

Happy Friday! Today we are helping Danny’s girlfriend move into Cornell University, so it will be a long and busy day – but fun to get to help and watch someone starting a new chapter in her life. It also means I won’t be reading any blogs, commenting or anything else … another weekend getting behind on my reading – it does get stressful (#fomo)!

1. Sock Mishap

Do you have socks with ‘L’ and ‘R’ on them? I only recently got some like that, but since I did, you can be sure I make sure they are on the wrong feet. Who knows what can happen, right? Well, that exact thing was the topic of a funny Runner’s World post:

Emergency room doctors confirmed Brenda’s suspicion. In a statement to reporters, a hospital spokeswoman said that doctors had concluded Mr. Meyers’ injuries were due to “sudden catastrophic foot failure.” In layman’s terms: Mr. Meyers’ right foot simply could not operate in a sock designed for a left foot, and vice versa. Faced with such a physiological disconnect, the statement said, the feet essentially “short circuit” and then shut down.

Whew … and remember:

hey-lets-be-careful-out-there-thumb

2.

Why Haven’t You Had Kids Yet?

Remember how I talked about ‘stuff people with kids need to stop saying …’? Well, as usual, The Oatmeal has summed it all up perfectly!

kids

3. Arnold Says “Don’t be afraid to fail”

Yet another great business-related article from LinkedIn this week talks about “What Arnold Schwarzenegger’s 6 Rules of Life Mean For Your Job”.

It is really a very good article, and a reminder of how much Arnold has accomplished – far from a dumb bodybuilder, he was a multimillionaire in his early 20s with a lousy grasp of English, yet came to America and was a huge success – and that was more than 40 years ago!

Here is my favorite quote from the article:

β€œAnything I ever attempted I was always willing to fail. You can’t always win but don’t be afraid of making decisions. You can’t be paralyzed by fear of failure or you will never push yourself.”

4. Best Simpsons Quote

Speaking of quotes, yesterday Salt reminded me of my favorite line from The Simpsons, from the episode ‘Moaning Lisa’ from 1990. It really needs no introduction:

Well it doesn’t matter how you feel inside, you know? It’s what
shows up on the surface that counts. That’s what my mother
taught me. Take all your bad feelings and push them down, all
the way down, past your knees until you’re almost walking on them.
And then you’ll fit in, and you’ll be invited to parties, and
boys will like you, and happiness will follow.

haha.

5. 5k or 10k? Help Me Decide!

So tomorrow everyone has to work, and Lisa and I had originally planned to do the ‘Time to Sperr’ event. It is a charity event to benefit the park and foundation, and Lisa was going to walk while I ran.

I am still thinking of doing it – but can’t decide – 5k or 10k?

I was initially going for the 10k because it is all the same money, but then I was astounded by how stupid that logic was, and I also want to do a 5k to push myself … I have no idea.

Thoughts?

Bonus. Twin Peaks

Why is this the ‘bonus’ and also the title of the post? Shaddup, it is my list!

Anyway, in my ’22 Years’ anniversary post I talked about watching Twin Peaks by phone with Lisa, and Judith commented about loving it as well. The boys and I enjoyed watching ‘Eraserhead’ recently, and we have Blue Velvet on DVD, and have starting working through Twin Peaks again. It is stunning how well it hold up as groundbreaking TV even today.

You should really check it out if you haven’t watched before … here is a link to Amazon.

And here is perhaps my favorite sequence from any show, ever:

22 thoughts on “Five Things Friday – For the Love of Twin Peaks

  1. Haha I read that article about the socks, and I do wear L and R socks and I am very insistent that I wear them on the correct feet:) And my mom saw them once and pointed out that they could also stand for “Lisa and Rob” – ha, so I thought that was cute.
    Hm as for the race…I am sort of thinking you should do the 5k! Since it seems like you always lean towards longer distances it could be a good chance to get a fast, short run in. But either will be fun!
    Good luck with the move! I used to visit Cornell often in college (I had friends who went there) and its a great place!

  2. Ha, I saw that Oatmeal cartoon yesterday and almost posted about it myself. So funny!

    I only have one pair of socks that are R and L, and I actually really like them. But I ALWAYS put them on the correct feet.

  3. Mmm since I hate 5ks I vote the 10k, but I also acknowledge that they’re useful at times to check fitness and see where you are, soooo if that’s what you want to do, then I suppose I’ll give my blessing for the fiver πŸ˜‰

  4. Fomo?
    I have one pair of L/R socks and always wear them on the correct feet, but they’re one of my least favorite pairs. A little snug and very pink, which is a color I like but it’s not well-represented in my running wardrobe, which tends heavily toward red.
    I saw the Oatmeal thing last night and immediately thought of you!
    Not sure I’d consider Arnold a huge success. Sure, famous and rich if those are the markers of success, but geez, what a mess he made of his life. I feel sad for Maria, though I suppose he might be perfectly happy, and thus meet my own definition of successful.
    As for the race, I’ll also vote 5k. Run hard! And it’s just over so fast.

    • FOMO = Fear Of Missing Out πŸ™‚

      Thanks for thinking of me with the Oatmeal comic … I do have some kids and poop/vomit stories, which also makes me laugh about the comic.

      Good point with Arnold … and important to calibrate our ‘what is success’ metrics on stuff that matters.

  5. Wow, Agent Cooper was so baby faced!

    Believe it or not, I had someone ask me this weekend if I was going to have another kid. I’m 44! My kid’s in college! I laughed it off, but seriously?

    If it were me, I’d do the 10k, but that’s because I love that distance. Hard enough to be a real effort yet not at the “I wanna puke for 3.1 miles” pace.

    • Haha – I think most of the ‘more babies’ questions have passed for us … though now Lisa constantly gets told ‘you can’t have hot flashes, you’re too young’ or ‘you can’t have arthritis, you’re too young’. Considering we had a friend who was totally through menopause before her 27th birthday … um, you never know.

      And I love the description β€œI wanna puke for 3.1 miles” …. really makes it appealing πŸ™‚

  6. Maybe the 5K since that would be totally different? I haven’t done a 5k in so long and after my nov marathon it’s time to try one. The socks thing is hysterical, and I can always feel if they’re on the wrong feet and doubt I could go on if I kept them that way. They have to go on the right feet!

    • Avoid the spontaneous foot malfunction! haha

      I do want to run a 5k and 10k at some point just for fun, the schedule is just nuts at this point and I really don’t want to pile anymore stress on top, y’know?

  7. Do the 5k!!!! I only say this bc I am also doing a 5k on Sunday that I haven’t told anyone about(oops, cats outta the bag–YOU KNOW!!!) I’m really looking forward to pushing myself, I’ve only done one before so I only have the one time to compare it to!

    I’m still working on my “kids/baby/WHY DONT YOU HAVE KIDS yet?!” Post–it’s not perfect and it’s such a giant issue that I’m holding off until it’s just right!!:)

    Have fun moving, and good luck to you and Lisa both!

    • Oh cool – will have to catch up on your 5K results! So far behind! My last 5k was over 2 years ago, so I am not worried so much about PR as my overall time. 10k is insta-PR for me πŸ™‚

      Can’t wait to read your baby post – it can be touchy, for sure … but weren’t you composing it back in June when I did my ‘things people need to stop saying’ post? πŸ™‚

  8. Go for a 10K PR, you are in shape for it, so go for it ;-). I bet you thought I would recommend the 5K hehehehe, both will hurt, especially since I know that you would race both of them, not run them.

    It is exciting to see someone else spread their wings and wonder what their future will bring to them. It can also be scary, because of the changes it will bring, not matter what others think of them :-).

    I never was a fan of Twin Peaks or actually any other series, well since MASH or was it Star Trek Next Gen, went off the air, I always get distracted and miss too many episodes.

    Have a great weekend and enjoy the trip.

    • Thanks – I was still in college when Star Trek Next Gen started and we all crowded into a big room to watch it every episode. Fun times.

      Almost racing gave me the itch .. now I am looking for one …

  9. As someone who doesn’t want kids, I could completely relate to that comic. I think a lot of people could relate to that if they aren’t in certain life moments. For instance, you’e been dating…why aren’t you engaged? You’ve been married where are your kids….or more kids.

    • Very true Hollie – I am sure as you are planning your wedding you are getting bugged about ‘the next steps’ … and dismissed if you say ‘no plans’. Ugh …

  10. I’m a 10k lover, so that would bet my vote, but it depends on what you want out of the race–fun/hell/fun with a dash of hell. But I love a 10k.
    Being from the South, and with relatives that are still very…. um… typical of certain aspects fo the old ways, they seem forever fixated on the “next” thing: date->engagement->marriage->kids->kids again->grandkids->death. I have expect people just to one day start asking if I’ve decided when i am going to die….

  11. I vote 5k. Thanks for that cartoon. I am constantly having to explain to people that I am happy with my life. And I have a family. It also really helps because I’m really sore from being in the pool with a 3 and 5 year old. I’m sure their mom is sore too but she can’t rest like me, she has to feed them etc etc

Leave a Reply

