WiAW – Loads of Food Plus Recipe Sharing “No Bake Chocolate Peanut Butter Recovery Cake”

Happy Wednesday – how is your week going? In our house it is the week between the 11-hour days of marching band camp and the start of school. So for some bizarre reason I decided to do a ‘What I Ate Wednesday’ post. I never thought I would do one of these … but I wanted to share a ‘food day in the life’ … well, OK – I wanted to share a favorite recovery food recipe and the post looked really sparse! Haha – enjoy!

WIAW - Assorted4

My incredibly typical breakfast: pear, Greek yogurt, prunes, and peanut butter tortilla wraps (or peanut butter toast)

WIAW - Assorted1

Lunch at work seems to consist of brought-in or catered meetings more often than not. This week we have a visitor helping us with an important run, so for a meeting we had Panera Bread – salad and a veggie wrap.

WIAW - Assorted3

Make-your-own pizza is a fave – this is from last week, but was awesome!

WIAW - Assorted2

Happy endings? My red wine and Lisa’s Martini!

Recipe Sharing

Also, I have a great recipe I want to share – it is for a recovery treat I have enjoyed since I first found it two years ago. I can’t find the blog that referred to it, but the original recipe is here.

Here is the finished product:

WIAW - PB Recovery Bar1

Ingredients:
8oz whipping cream
16oz good quality milk chocolate
8oz Graham Crackers
8oz peanut butter
(optional 1/2 cup confectionary sugar, 2 tbsp butter)

Instructions:
1. Bring cream just to a boil in a small saucepan.

2. Bash or chop chocolate into small chunks and place in a bowl. Add hot cream and stand for 5 minutes.

3. Meanwhile, line a loaf pan with parchment (or waxed) paper.

4. Stir cream and chocolate until smooth and well combined. Pour enough melted chocolate into the base of the cake to cover the bottom.

(Optional 4a. microwave the butter for 20 second to melt, stir in peanut butter to thin, and then slowly combine in the confectionary sugar to make a fudge).

5. Place a layer of Graham Crackers on top. Cover with peanut butter (or peanut butter fudge).

6. Repeat until you go through most of the chocolate.

7. Add a final layer of Graham Crackers. Drizzle remaining chocolate over the top.

8. Refrigerate (or freeze) for at least 8 hours, or longer if possible.

9. Slice thin – as you might expect this is super-rich and filling!

The original recipe offers some variations:
– Dairy Free: Replace cream with almond milk or rice milk or coconut milk. Also replace milk chocolate with dark.
– Dark Chocolate: Go for it and replace milk for dark chocolate (you might want to drizzle some honey for sweetness)
– Sweet & Salty: add some sea salt flakes on top of the peanut butter layer.

What is YOUR favorite decadent recovery food?

20 thoughts on “WiAW – Loads of Food Plus Recipe Sharing “No Bake Chocolate Peanut Butter Recovery Cake”

  1. My meals have been rather boring as well (especially since I’m at work so frequently). I just eat whatever works there…I cannot believe you consider that a recovery! It looks amazing.

    • I agree – I remember when I first saw it thinking ‘no way that is recovery’ … but the components technically qualify 🙂 haha … I just think it is awesome, but have only made it a couple of times because it is a calorie-bomb!

  2. How good are graham crackers for just about anything?? I swear. When I would have procedures at the hospital I would always ask for extra packets of them and then hoard them. I think my major indulgent treat is when i get froyo (otherwise, I just have my regular ice cream). A big ole burger or a pizza is another pretty darn good option. Also, diner pancakes and such.

    • Thanks Suz … and you continue with #OMGALLTHEFOODZ 🙂 I don’t know why, but I am not a huge fan of pancakes … probably my least fave breakfasty thing. Hmmm

  3. A northerner who eats tortillas! After eating them like a normal person my entire life in the north (which is to say once a month or so in a taco or quesadilla or wrap form), I’ve been hooked on them for over a year now, eating at least two of them per day. One of the grocery stores here (well, lots of them probably) makes them fresh daily and I love them.

    Nut allergy sucks sometimes, everything else about your recipe sounds good.

    • haha – I started with breakfast tortillas last year when travelling – perfect package size for no waste, I started with them for dinner, then both dinner and breakfast … and well, now I have them more often than toast (though I still love toast).

      And since Lisa has nnut allergies, I totally get that they suck – especially since they really just came on in the last couple of years!

  4. Wow that dessert looks amazing. Anything with chocolate and peanut butter makes me happy. Usually as a “recovery” treat I don’t crave desserts so much as comfort food like burgers and fries. And thanks for reminding me that I was planning to have a glass of wine tonight- I’ll be doing that right now:)

Leave a Reply

