30 Days of Gratitude – Day #21, You Guys Are Awesome (Mustache Some Questions Post)

gratitude

Continuing with my 30 Days of Gratitude, I am thankful for this incredible blog and social media community.

Day #21 – Sorry … NOT Sorry!

OK, when I got tagged not once but twice I thought ‘how am I going to do ANOTHER’ award post as a Gratitude post? Then I realized something – I don’t have to fake it!

Truth is, I would have totally left this blog and the community behind if it wasn’t for all of you great people – over the last couple of years since I started reading running & healthy living blogs and writing my own blog, I have learned SO much (um, tapering, fartleks, compression, I could go on forever!) – and thoroughly enjoyed ‘meeting’ so many great people. It is definitely something I am grateful for!

So when I got nominated by Harold and Nicky Nicole (sorry, couldn’t help myself!) to add my own post, naturally I could’t say no!

i-mustache-you-some-questions-e14154651593421-300x300

4 names that people call me, other than my real name:
1. Dad
2. Mr. Anderson (normal)
3. Mr. Anderson (Matrix voice)
4. Mikey A (old nickname from high school & college, heard it a couple of times at reunion this spring!)

4 jobs I’ve had:
1. Newspaper delivery (Brockton Enterprise, Boston Herald, Boston Globe)
2. Retail associate (Bradlees, through high school & college)
3. Optical Engineer
4. Statistician

4 movies I’ve watched more than once (OK, since THAT list is in the thousands I’ll go with the ‘memorized’ concept):
1. Star Wars original trilogy (OK, three movies is cheating, but at least I narrowed it from all 6!)
2. Harry Potter movies (more cheating)
3. Real Genius, Airplane and Better Off Dead (yes, still more cheating)
4. The Good, the Bad and the Ugly

4 books I’d recommend (I just did yet another book post, so these are recent books never on one of my lists … links are NOT affiliate, just Kindle links):
1. The Art of Racing in the Rain (2009) by Garth Stein
2. Burial Rites (2013) by Hannah Kent
3. Gone Girl (2012) by Gillian Flynn
4. Sweet Tooth (2012) by Ian McEwan (Lisa was *not* a huge fan of this one πŸ™‚

4 places I have lived (yeah, not big on moving πŸ™‚ ):
1. Stoughton, MA. (25 years)
2. Troy, NY (college years)
3. Acton, MA (4 years)
4. Townsend, MA (13 years)
5. Horseheads, NY (last 6.5 years)

4 places I have been (tough choices!):
1. Cape Cod (about a million times during my life!)
2. Disney World (by myself once, and a few times with the kids!)
3. Karlsruhe Germany (a couple of weeks on business but plenty of time to explore!)
4. Antigua (honeymoon – such great memories!)

4 places I’d rather be right now:
1. Boston area / Cape Cod
2. London
3. Somewhere in the Carribean
4. San Francisco

4 things I don’t eat (perhaps this illustrates part of my food problem!):
1. Clams due to a strong reaction (by extension I don’t touch mussels or oysters), not allergic, but will be on the couch all day
2. Um … I tend to avoid processed foods, fried foods, packaged sweets, ‘chemical soup’ etc. But those are ‘avoid’, not ‘don’t eat’.

4 of my favorite foods:
1. Ice cream
2. Fresh fruit
3. Sweet potato
4. Peanut butter

4 TV shows that I watch:
1. Twin Peaks (Old Fave / re-watching)
2. Doctor Who
3. Castle
4. Grimm

4 things I’m looking forward this year:
1. Maintaining running, fitness, weight
2. Danny graduating and starting college
3. Chris doing his college search
4. Whatever adventures Lisa and I have

4 things I’m always saying:
1. How are the college applications going?
2. Are you guys almost done with homework … we’re going to bed
3. Time to wake up!
4. True story!

Have you done one of these posts? If not … consider yourself nominated πŸ™‚

22 thoughts on “30 Days of Gratitude – Day #21, You Guys Are Awesome (Mustache Some Questions Post)

  1. lol!!!! I’m not offended!!! I accidently left off the “4 things I’m loping forward to this year” in my post, oops!
    I’ve heard good things about burial rites- I’m going to check it out!
    I’ve read all of Gillian Flynn’s books-man that lady can craft one heck of a creepy tale! Have you read any others?

    • Thanks Nicole – glad you took my joking as such, always hard to tell online πŸ™‚

      I haven’t read any other Gillian Flynn books, have some in my Kindle wish list – will get to them at some point (yeah, as my backlog keeps growing!)

  2. SO glad that you included a Matrix Mr. Anderson. I don’t think you can have your last name these days and not have heard it! I used to love Castle and watched so much of it, but I basically stopped after they got together at the end of that season and was like “thank goodness, now I can be done.” We all knew that they wouldn’t let sleeping dogs lie, in classic TV form.

    • It is interesting looking back at how long it took to have people use that ‘Mr Anderson’ on me … I think it was really when we moved to NY, meaning 2008 (or 9 years after the film). Weird.

      Castle … well, let’s say that the relationship isn’t in my top 10 of the issues with the show at this point πŸ˜‰ He is such a goofball it actually continues to work (unlike Bones where I feel like it killed her character). The bigger problems with Castle? Pretty much everything else … really weak start this year.

  3. Lol at the Matrix πŸ™‚ I am just starting to get into the “do your homework” phase as well as the “time to wake up!” phase. For years it seemed the kids woke me up super early and slowly it’s become the other way around. I totally am starting to feel like my mom!

    • haha- funny πŸ™‚

      When we were in MA (we moved when the boys were 10 & 11.5) I would be up and gone before they woke up … now most mornings I am still dragging their butts out of bed at 6AM back from my run. Of course, I am a ‘super-hyper-nutso’ morning person, I had no problem getting up at 5AM for my paper route all the way through high school! I don’t miss micromanaging the homework though, checking the daily planner and so on … now I just check in the ‘Parent Portal’ online on a weekly basis and ask questions.

    • Has it become ‘a thing’ to love Better Off Dead? I don’t notice it on cable as much as Sixteen Candles or Breakfast Club. Of course I saw all of them in theaters back then (movies were really cheap), but Better Off Dead and Real Genius (and Last Starfighter and War Games and … ugh don’t get me started! πŸ™‚ ) were my faves!

      • And of course, since our kids do trash and recycling weekly, the “now that’s a damn shame when folks be throwing away a perfectly good white boy” line comes up regularly.

        This entire mountain … pure snow! Do you know the street value of this mountain?

        Go that way … really fast. If something gets in your way – turn.

        Yeah, I could go on forever πŸ˜‰

  4. Lots of good stuff here, the staying in mostly one place is a good thing and it seems like you are all pretty happy out there, Mass is over-rated ;-P, lived there a few times and the traffic, well Monday reminded me of everything I needed to remember about living/working in the Boston area :-).

    The Good, The Bad and The Ugly – spaghetti westerns my grandfather used to make me watch them with him πŸ™‚ good memories.

    Thanks for playing along.

    • I would move back to Mass in a second … just my home, I guess. But I feel no draw to any of the towns we lived in, would be happy heading to the Cape (of course, not where jobs in my field are located, but hey)

      Love the spaghetti westerns – and I’m really not a big fan of westerns in general. Like the Eastwood ones, Magnificent Seven, Once Upon a Time in the West not much else …

      Watching movies with the kids (because they are so much more ‘art-centric’ than me) is interesting – the use of silence and space in Good, Bad, Ugly and Once Upon a Time in the West … each has a very long opening with no dialogue yet introduces the main characters effectively.

      • Home is home and when you have good memories of there, it is easy to go back :-). Being a professional vagabound (moving ever 2-4 years), since I left high school, until 2000 when I moved to where I am now. I really don’t have any place that I call home, yeah where I live is my home, but the town I live in is not home – if that makes sense.

        The spaghetti Westerns were just fun to watch and when I see them on TV, I think of a different time and place, not better but definitely different. I don’t worry about the artsy-side of the movies, I don’t have anyone in the family who looks at it from that POV.

  5. I love that you watch Grimm too, I don’t know anyone else besides Robyn and I who watch it. I like it more than Robyn, he just watches it to make me happy!! πŸ™‚

    Yes to all your favorite foods, but especially PB–I’ve never had a PB I didn’t like…man that sounds like the beginning of a PB Eaters Anonymous meeting! πŸ™‚

    I really hope you guys make it back to Boston/Cape once the boys are off. It always shows through how much you love this beautiful state–I can’t say I blame you, it’s pretty great πŸ˜‰

    • Our boys got us involved with Grimm – now they don’t even watch with us! haha We enjoy it Friday if we catch it or on Hulu over the weekend … and honestly I liked where they were going with ‘kick-ass Juliette’ last year and I hope they return to that soon. Supernatural we also watch but I could take or leave.

      And PB is amazing … I would prefer getting crunchy, but don’t know if my younger son would like it.

      I have no idea if we will end up in Massachusetts, we will want to be close to the boys if possible, but who knows, right? That is where I would love to be … we are really ocean people, and I will always be a Boston boy πŸ™‚

      Hope you’re enjoying your vacation. Love your pics on IG so far πŸ™‚

  6. Pingback: 30 Days of Gratitude Revisited | Running Around the Bend

Leave a Reply

