A Quick Look Back at 2014 in Running

IMG_0453

I had been planning a ‘year in review’ post which will come at the year end, but the other day Amanda at Miss Zippy challenged everyone to do a quick ‘how was your year in running’ post … so here it goes!

Before I answer her questions, I look at the year in a few ways:
– I started the year and ended the year healthy and without injury.
– I ran more miles this year than any other year … again. In fact, since I ‘got serious’ about running in April 2012 I have run well over 8000 miles. (whew!)
– I didn’t run a marathon, half-marathon or ultra … all of which I planned but scheduling, activities with the kids, and family vacations all are higher priority. The final chance at a half was Nov 2nd … and I was sick!
– Unlike 2013, work has had me local all year (5 miles from home!) – Yay for family time!
– I think I became a Saucony lover this year between the Kinvara 4, Virrata 2 and especially the Kinvara 5.

Best race experience? That is easy – I only ran ONE race. But still the ‘Selfless Elf 5K’ was an amazing race because I ran it full of fun and joy, and also got my fastest recorded pace … like, ever. 7:21/mile … I still can’t associate those numbers with ME.

IMG_2584

Best run? 2014 was an odd year because I ran pretty much alone all year, and almost always on the same half-dozen routes. But there were two runs that stand out – the 5K and my first run on the Catharine Valley Trail. The 5K I mentioned above, but I will still go back to the first trail run for me this year. It was a goal to hit the trails more … and I only did a few, and they were on ‘groomed’ trails so it wasn’t too hard. But when I did it, the 12 miles on the Catharine Valley trail were just perfect – I appreciated the change and the trails were awesome!

Best new piece of gear? I would have to go with the Garmin VivoSmart. I get notifications on my wrist (which stopped being useful once the average daily run temperature dropped below 25F last month), so I can see what is coming in. I also get daily tracking, and the ‘goal’ increases based on you surpassing it … so now I am pressed harder and harder to make the goal. Review coming soon πŸ™‚ Also loved? The Magellan Echo and Garmin Forerunner 15. So no matter what it is something on my wrist!

Best piece of running advice you received? It was a question from last year, : ‘where do you see yourself as a runner in 5, 10 and 20 years.’ My answer is that in 2014 I crossed the 25 year mark as a runner, starting in 1989 at nearly 400lbs. In 25 years I will be 73 – and I would love if I could still be showing up to run local 5K events and maybe even longer wherever we are then! That self-advice put all of my other goals in perspective.

Most inspirational runner? Tough call, so I am naming two:

Danielle the T-Rex Runner. Here is a woman who has struggled with eating disorders that were literally destroying her, has other health issues she has shared, ended up with surgery last year on her digestive track … and again this year had surgery on her back … and has just run her second marathon within a month.

Laura Parson from TheGlutenFreeTreadmill: Laura has picked up her life after dealing with some awful treatment at her previous job, is pursuing a doctorate in women’s studies in North Dakota, and has taken her passion as an ultra-runner and turned it into a quest that will have her running across the country next summer. That’s right … running. across. the. country. As in San Francisco to NYC. All to support RAINN and an awareness of violence against women. Amazing and inspirational.

If you could sum up your year in a couple of words, what would they be? (same as last year, boring I know – but it is my mantra). Nothing about running matters more to me than getting up tomorrow for my 5+ mile run.

How was YOUR year in running?

23 thoughts on “A Quick Look Back at 2014 in Running

    • Thanks Lisa – look forward to seeing yours! Exactly – although it wasn’t how I expected the year to go, I see my 5K as well as the number of 20+ miles I did as reassuring me that my running is solid. πŸ™‚

  1. I would call that a very successful year. Races aren’t always necessary for running to be successful. You maintained your passion, exceeded your previous goals, and came out healthy. Not all runners (not many actually) can say that. And you also gained a lot of insight over the year from your running and for me that is the biggest thing you can get out of running. Happy 2014!

    • Thanks Sarah – I definitely think that even though it didn’t turn out as planned, 2014 was definitely a good running year – and I don’t mention it in this post, but it was a really good year overall.

      Are you doing a year in review?

      • Yes I have been meaning to do a year review and I definitely will. There was a lot to be grateful this year. I mentioned at the beginning of the year that I was going to count my mileage for the first time. I have been waiting to tally it up πŸ™‚

      • Cool! I actually backed off doing weekly tallies because I felt like I was starting to focus too much on the numbers, and that is silly. Now I just do it quarterly. Can’t wait to read yours!

  2. I love your perspective. Maybe it takes the wisdom of age, but running doesn’t have to be about racing in order to be enjoyable. Keep doing what your’e doing and there’s no reason you shouldn’t be running still in 25 years–well done! Thanks for linking in.

    • Thanks for hosting this again! When I saw your post and then Harold’s I had forgotten I’d done one last year as well, and I think it is a great way to look at things. I tend to dig way deep on stuff, so just a quick post is a great idea.

      And I hope you’re right – I love races for many reasons, but at this point there are many higher priorities, and hey, I still go running. πŸ™‚

  3. I’m borrowing this idea. I’ve been away from the blog world for a bit, and ironically this is the first blog post I have read in a while. Fate! I really enjoy reading your thoughts on what running means to you. A healthy end to the year is most important and running because you love it is more thrilling than any finish line. I would say you are a very inspiring runner yourself. Happy Holidays!!

  4. Sounds like a good year to me! I am glad you got to spend time with your family! Running is about so much more than races, and it seems like you know that!

  5. Sounds like you had a great year. Staying injury free is one of the best things you can do. Congrats on that. I would agree that Danielle and Laura are two very inspirational bloggers to me as well.

  6. Great year. My short summary is that I kept running despite a huge lack of PRs. Ran a couple marathons, and probably a dozen or so other races, but not a PR to be found (except at the one new-to-me distance). But it didn’t really bother me, I still ran with my friends and had a good time. I’m quite content with a year like that!

  7. First, thank you!

    I think we are starting to think about the year, and I’ve a series of recaps coming. It’s crazy that it is the end, but overall, I am extremely happy with how this year went. I learned a lot from the bad stuff, and had so many great experiences. I think that’s all we can ask.

  8. Woo hoo! These are so fun to read! Congrats on starting and finishing the year healthy! Would you like to do more races this year, if it works with your schedule?

    • Thanks! And yes – my goal was to run at least a few races this past year … and I hope to run a few in 2015. I do like the social and self-competition aspects of races, but they also take more time and I always feel squeezed – as it was, I could have squeezed in a 20 miler in the time it took me to drive to and race my 5k last weekend! πŸ™‚

  9. Pingback: 2014 in Review, and My Running (and Non-Running) Goals for 2015! | Running Around the Bend

Leave a comment